good in 2013

April 19, 2014

Remember 2013? It seems such a long time ago now, but even late-April isn’t too late for this blog to update on the previous year’s music. Certainly not. Last year was actually another standout year, including the return of a few of the big beasts in music – David Bowie (featured in this compilation) not least among them.

Click on the Mixcloud player above to listen, and reminisce.


0:00:00 / Daft Punk: “Get Lucky” from the album Random Access Memories

No comment required – the biggest track of the year by far (here’s the proof).


0:06:03 / Poliça: “Chain My Name” from the album Shulamith

Joyous, youthful synth-pop from the Minnesotan band.


0:10:08 / Young Galaxy: “Pretty Boy (Peaking Lights Remix)”, original version from the album Ultramarine

An undulating pop gem from Vancouver (via San Francisco).


0:16:41 / Nosaj Thing feat. Kazu Makino: “Eclipse/Blue” from the album Home

Dreamy pop, featuring Makino’s (she of Blonde Redhead) ethereal vocal talents.


0:20:57 / Suuns: “Minor Work” from the album Images Du Futur

Intelligent, modern rock music.


0:26:49 / Joasihno: “Oh Boy” from the album A Lie

Quirky, carefree and forgivably twee frippery from this Bavarian duo.


0:30:59 / Foxygen: “No Destruction” from the album We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors Of Peace & Magic

The Californians channel a cheesy Bob Dylan – and get away with it.


0:35:53 / David Bowie: “Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy” from the album The Next Day Extra

Take Bowie’s triumphant return, add a respectful James Murphy (erstwhile of LCD Soundsystem) at his most inspired. The result is this astonishing track.


0:46:16 / Banks: “Before I Ever Met You” from the EP Fall Over

Tied (with the preceding track) for best song of 2013, in this blog’s opinion.


0:50:43 / Saltland: “Treehouse Schemes” from the album I Thought It Was Us But It Was All Of Us

Six minutes of beautiful contemplation from cellist Rebecca Foon (also of Esmerine – see this year’s mix).


0:56:56 / Serafina Steer: “Night Before Mutiny” from the album The Moths Are Real

Jarvis Cocker (behind the production desk) breathes new life into this otherworldly tale of derring-do, originally recorded in 2010.


1:01:54 / Agnes Obel: “Fuel To Fire” from the album Aventine

Beautifully simple, simply beautiful songwriting from this Danish chanteuse.


1:07:21 / Moderat: “This Time” from the album II

Sascha Ring (Apparat) and Gernot Bronsert/Sebastian Szary (Modeselektor) once again find the soul in the machine.


1:13:04 / Junip: “After All Is Said And Done” from the album Junip

Swedish artesans featuring the talents of José González, whom you may recall seduced listeners with a beautiful Kylie cover back in 2003.


1:18:46 / ends


See also: